I learned a new word this week…..

I was reading about phobias yesterday and  I found  there are people who are afraid of books…they have  what is called…Bibliophobia.I have heard of many phobias in my life…but this was something new…the fear of books!!!

So what exactly is A phobia?…It  is an irrational, intense and persistent fear of certain situations, activities, things, animals, or people. The main symptom of this disorder is the excessive and unreasonable desire to avoid the feared stimulus.

http://phobias.about.com/od/phobiaslist/a/bibliophobia.htm

I suppose we all have a fear/s of some kind…but would our fears be considered … phobias???….So… of course that got me  to thinking…what fears do I have ?? and are any of them a   phobia???…Is there something that I fear intensely…irrationally…and persistantlyl???…Hmmm

Well…I do fear loosing my calendar…my life line that tells me  where  I have to be when….and then there are my glasses…however…that is not really a problem cause…. I always have contact lenses if they are lost…and how about my keys….that has scared me once or twice……

OH..OH…I’ve got it!!!…candles and fire …I love them outside ...but when they are burning inside…especially when my husband is away…I get a bit worried about fire…I have even been known  to blow out a candle or two at a friend’s home …usually in their bathroom as it bothered me a bit…Also…I   have a good supply of battery operated flames to put in containers….However…I will  admit…I do love the real thing sometimes …and I have just begun lighting up a candle at suppertime once in a while…and actually enjoying it.

So…is it a phobia???…I don’t think so…it is not a real intense fear…In fact…I actually never thought about it much….until I began volunteering at the local fire department …I was their Education Officer for three years…so… I wouldn’t call it a phobia…just a healthy respect and knowledge of  fire.

But  just imagine ….a fear of books…think of all the problems such a phobia could cause a person…imagine all the information and interesting stories that person would miss in their life…I suppose a library would not be a favorite place of theirs…and what about friends…would they only visit homes  of friends …that did not display books???…I suppose bibliophobia could be very debilitating  in ones daily life.

 

I just had a thought…I wonder if a Kindle or an E Book would cause a person with bibliophobia the same problems

…or not??

Ok now…time to relax …

 

