I have been reading a book about happiness which got me thinking about…what is it that makes me happy?…What are the things I like  or would like to do that bring a smile to my face??…What is it that I consider to be fun??…The more I thought about it the more it made me wonder about fun…How often do we find ourselves  doing  something  with another person…something that is fun for them…but really not at all for us?…How often do we tell ourselves we are  having fun… but not really??…How often do we do something that is fun for us…How true are we to ourselves about fun and happiness??

Now I realize that there will always be things we do along with  others that may not be fun to us…and sometimes we should… because we want to spend time with them and so we share in their fun times…The problem comes when we allow someone else’s fun times to override ours .

For me???…I am happy…I am having fun… when I am spending hours in my sewing/craft room…and when I am reading my book to a group of children…doing a crossword puzzle with my husband…Fun for me is having an afternoon coffee with a friend….a long walk with my husband or… looking for that heart-shaped rock to add to my collection…just to name a few.

However…I  also think it could  be fun  to go fly a kite with my husband!!! …Yes a kite!…We have acres of open land around us..perfect for kite flying…I remember how much fun flying a kite was years ago…. Now how strange a thought is that?…I haven’t flown a kite since I was young …but for some reason…I think if I were to go and do that…it would make me happy…it would be such a fun time…So what am I waiting for???…I suppose I should work on it..I think I will plan to do just that in spring…I will just go and buy two kites and make a plan…Maybe I can even get a bunch of friends to join us…that could be even more fun.

So now I wonder about all of you…did something  fun immediately came to mind for you???….What is it that does.. or would …make you happy??…What  is that for you…  that is or would be  fun and make you smile???….How often do any of us pay attention to our fun factor??…How often do we actually think about …FUN???

I suppose if we wanted to be a bit happier…if we wanted to have more fun…it might be a good idea to develop a FUN list and add to it each time we become aware of another thing that makes us happy….then ….just like our task to do lists…we will have a happiness to do list …however instead of crossing them off as we do with our tasks…we can mark them with a star each time we do one…each time we have one of those fun times…and watch our stars add us and our list get longer and longer as we find new fun things to do. …It can be our very own FUN scale!!!

So……what is it that makes you happy and brings a smile to your face…what kinds of things are your fun???

Let me know at 3rdwave@mts.net….I think it could be fun to share our fun with each other.