When I first read this quote……it reminded me of the old song….Love the one you’re with….then…without warning… all of a sudden the quote….necessity is the mother of invention…popped into my my head.

Do what you can …with what you have... .has long been my mantra…even my husband will attest to that…It drives him crazy when he sees me doing just that!!! ..Who needs to go find the  jar opener when you have a spoon right in front of you?…or… How about the  lowly little butter knife… that can be easily transformed into a screw driver when required…I remember how my mom would transform a simple white tissue and a hair pin…into a hat for me to wear in church… on days that I forgot my Sunday bonnet…

For centuries …mankind has been doing what they can with what they have …If you don’t own a jar opener …and you need to get it opened…you will find a way….you will figure it out…Isn’t that kind of thinking….that  separates us from the other species???

I thought about this as I watched the news today…as I looked at the footage of the thousands of Japanese who have lost their homes…and everything they owned…people who are most likely…finding out how inventive they really can be….at a time when they have no choice but …to do what they can…with what they have…where they now are.

I think back to the years when I didn’t own a screw driver…and then I think about now…Today …I have access to a multitude of them…red, yellow and black handled…straight,phillips and square headed ones…Is my life better or is it just different?…All I can say is that…now…I spend more time in trying to find…the correct  screwdriver for the job…I will admit that my butter knives are in much better shape these days… and that screw heads no longer get chewed up…which seems to make my husband much happier.

It seems the less a person owns…the more creative they must be…with what they have...out of necessity most likely…So that makes me wonder about people who have lots?…The people with the jar openers and the multiple head screw drivers??…How creative do they have to be?…I wonder about me…am I less creative now…or just ….creative in different ways?..hmmm…something to ponder???

So yes… I will continue to….do what I can with what I have...The only difference is that…these days…I happen to …have more .

And now….here are a few pics of … doing what you can, with what you have..where you are…..

Sometimes you just have to do…what you have to do !!!