This weekend  my husband and I spent many hours walking….walking and walking some more. Some footsteps took place on a wooden boardwalk…some along a lake shore…and some along a lake side path and everywhere I looked there was driftwood.

I had forgotten to bring a camera along …wished I had.  As I walked …my plan was to look for stones in the shape of hearts for my collection…  however…. I seemed to keep seeing driftwood instead…    beautiful driftwood…driftwood that seemed to take on interesting shapes!!  It seemed the more I kept trying to look for heart-shaped stones…the more I kept seeing driftwood instead….now that is weird I thought to myself each day I walked.                                                                                                                                                                                             On one morning walk…we stopped and sat on a bench…and there it was again…driftwood…driftwood with knots all over it and I began to wonder…???  I wondered …. how much …we… people…as we age… are much like the driftwood…yes… “driftwood and we…have much  in common with all that wood…” I thought to myself.”  …..

Both are well weathered…both become gray….both have traveled to a variety of locations…both have been  “tossed around” for years….both have markings from years of living…(we have scars and driftwood has knots and rings)…much of the driftwood pieces have  found  permanent homes…but some have not yet found a permanent home….and … just like us…both …were once hearty and strong …but will become fragile and worn down with the years.

Yes…driftwood and we …have much in common… if you just think about it.

I never did find a good heart-shaped rock to bring home with me this weekend…except for this teeny-weeny little pebble…oh…and I just loved the little circle…so I brought it home with me too…..

Heart shaped stones are not easy to find…try looking next time you are out on a walk.  My collection is a small one and I write on the back of each…where I found them. If you should ever find one and then wonder…what the “Sam heck” am I going to do with it now???…send it my way…I would love it!!!

And now…the beginning of a new collection..  Sculptures have been my most recent  theme….a variety of media….then sand….and now….???  I will let you wonder for  a  few days about what media is being used in the following day’s sculptures.  I am amazed by the weird things I can find to share with you…

